Alberni Valley Bulldogs Chilliwack Chiefs Coquitlam Express Cowichan Capitals Langley Rivermen Merritt Centennials Nanaimo Clippers Penticton Vees Powell River Kings Prince George Spruce Kings Salmon Arm Silverbacks Surrey Eagles Trail Smoke Eaters Vernon Vipers Victoria Grizzlies Wenatchee Wild West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Poirier Commits to McGill Redmen

Salmon Arm, B.C. — The Salmon Arm Silverbacks are thrilled to announce that graduating 20-year-old forward William Poirier has committed to play Canadian university hockey for the McGill Redmen, one of the oldest and most successful programs in U Sports.

The Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Que. native finished his junior career with the Backs after spending four seasons in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, playing 255 games between the Drummondville Voltigeurs and Saint John Sea Dogs. This past year with the Backs, he finished second on the club in goals in the regular season with 23 and ranked fourth in points with 41 in 51 games.

“I’m excited and honoured to commit to such a prestigious university and am looking forward to joining one of the best hockey and academic programs in Canada,” Poirier said. “I want to give a special thanks to the Silverbacks, my teammates and all the staff for the opportunity they gave me this past year.”

Poirier eclipsed the 300 career games played mark at the junior level during his tenure with the Backs. In 306 total games, he tallied 124 points. Not only did Poirier provide truculence and invaluable leadership during his tenure in Salmon Arm, but he also won the team’s academic award this past season.

“We are extremely proud of Will and his accomplishments,” Silverbacks General Manager Brooks Christensen said. “McGill is getting a player with outstanding work ethic and character. We’d like to wish Will all the best in his future and thank him for all his hard work this season.”

The McGill Redmen compete in the East Division of the 20-team Ontario University Athletics Conference and have won over 20 national championships, including five in a row from 2008-12.